jump to navigation

Grafitti August 11, 2006

Posted by Amanda in Travel Diary.
trackback

I am not completely against grafitti in all its forms. I was most disturbed to hear that Melbourne painted over all the stencil work before the Commonwealth Games.

However, what I will never understand is the mindset of people who have to make their mark on important historical objects and places. I was quite upset to see that the Eastside Gallery of the Berlin Wall was covered in grafitti. I don’t know why you are wanting to put your name over an art work.

But the one that really shocked me is the grafitti in the barracks at Auschwitz. That is incomprehensible and unforgivable. And a lot of it is written in languages other than Polish so you know that the person who did it is probably not a kid and should know better.

That is my rant for today.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

