jump to navigation

Book confessions August 19, 2006

Posted by Amanda in Travel Diary.
trackback

When I talked about starting this blog before we left Australia, I told some of you that I was going to try to read a book about each place that we were in and write about how that related to what we saw. I would still like to do that, but basically I am too cheap. I have found that it is just too expensive to buy the books I would like to be reading so I am reading whatever I can get my hands on.

Nevertheless, I have read some books that relate. I started off with Leviathan, which is about the history of Sydney. It was quite interesting but hard going in parts. Then I read two books about New York- Bergdorf Blondes and Lily Brett’s New York. The Lily Brett book was particularly good and there were quite a few things in there that did resonate when we were there- things like the Heimlich manouvre posters in restaurants.

When we got to England, I read Truman Capote’s “In Cold Blood”- that was really good and I have since seen the Capote¬†movie as well. I read Donna Tartt’s second book “The Little Friend while we were there as well. I enjoyed it much more than I thought I would after hearing some of the reviews.

While we were in Berlin, I did read Stasiland by Anna Funder which was very apt but not quite as enjoyable as I thought it might be.

Then I went back to my love of classics and read “Shirley” by Charlotte Bronte. Since then I have read “Lucky” by Alice Seabold- disturbing but I read it in about seven hours. And now I am reading “Brick Lane” by Monica Ali which is also hard to put down. Soon I will have to try and wrest the copy of Shantaram from Chris.

A book is a must have while travelling, especially for those long waits between trains or when there is a delay!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

