jump to navigation

Old v New August 19, 2006

Posted by Amanda in Architecture/Design, Travel Diary.
trackback

I have been thinking about how often we travel to see old stuff, but not that often we go out of our way to see new stuff. I suppose this is especially true in Europe where there is a lot of history to see and you start to see old building after old building and one historical site after another. It makes me think about Alain de Botton’s comments about our tendency to always hark back to the past and not embrace the future in architecture. Then I think “do I do that?” with my love of all things retro and vintage including 50’s houses. But at the same time, Chris and I love new and interesting architecture and are always coming up with ideas of the type of house we would like to build.

There are some places that we travel to in order to see new things- the Guggenheim in Bilbao is one. I have heard that Bilbao wasn’t visited that much until it was built. We will go there in September and I will update you. We seem to be seeing more Frank Gehry than anything on this trip!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

