jump to navigation

Digital addiction November 11, 2006

Posted by Amanda in Travel Diary.
trackback

I love my digital camera. I love that I don’t have to worry about not having enough film or how much the processing will cost. The battery life isn’t so great but that is why I have two sets of rechargeables. You may have noticed how much I love my camera with the 4000+ photos that are now on Flickr- I do need to sort these out and delete, delete, delete.

I love the fact that I can immediately review my photos and retake them if necessary. I think my photos are better as a result. I love the huge zoom that I sometimes use instead of binoculars if I want to see something- the digital zoom quality isn’t great but it can be fun sometimes anyway. I love the video capability that gives quite good quality film for short bits. I love love LOVE the fact that I can take pictures without a flash and in really low light and get a shot that actually looks the same in the picture as it does in real life.

But, and there is always a but, this is the downside. I think I have become so obsessed with my new camera that my eyes have turned into lenses. I assess everything in terms of its potential for a shot. I find myself going to places simply because I think there are some opportunities for good photos. I don’t walk out the door without my camera. Obviously this is worse because we are travelling for so long so it has had time to become a habit. Chris is starting to add on photography time to our ETA’s because he knows if we are walking somewhere I will stop several times.

Oh well, it could be worse. I could be addicted to something really dangerous- like shopping.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

