jump to navigation

Fashion disaster December 31, 2006

Posted by Amanda in Fashion, Uncategorized.
trackback

I have to say that our culture shock has taken on a different theme this time. Last time we came back to Australia from Asia the wealth of everything shocked us. This time it is much less lofty and worthy.

All I can see this time is how badly Australians in general dress. Not only is it boring and beige, the clothes are such bad quality and so badly designed.

In Europe, even shops the equivalent of Target had much more aesthetically pleasing, more quality made clothing. Here, I am sorry to say, many people just look slobby. And Australians seem to be much more afraid of standing out from the crowd. It is so depressing.

Trinny and Susannah, Australia needs you to do a whole country makeover!

Comments»

1. Linda - January 9, 2007

I have changed my image and have been wearing a nice dress whenever I go out, and straightening my hair every day. That old grunge look and the I don’t care today look has gone. I’ve told people I look like a Stepford Wife when I’m at the supermarket and have been met with silence which could mean they don’t know what the hell I’m talking about or that it’s just a little too weird to comment on… I do stand out a little amongst the tracky pants & ski pants and pants in general. People are treating me differently. Everyone is so polite and men have offered to carry things for me. I’ve even been asked out four times in the last month. It’s great to give a damn about what you wear!

2. Amanda - January 9, 2007

Wooo-hoo! Good for you Linda.

3. Lazarus Bakilatsos - October 24, 2007

This is very true. I am sick to death of walking around the city wearing a nice pair of casual loafers only to be stared down by hordes of people wearing ‘thongs,’ I could think of nothing worse. But then again there are the V-Neck T-Shirts brandishing slogans such as “BOW WOW WOW WENDY.”

I’m only 16 but I try to look the best I can even if it involves ‘over’ dressing every now and then. I can’t begin to imagine as to what effect it would have on you oldies…


Leave a Reply

