jump to navigation

Moving blues … January 11, 2007

Posted by Amanda in Uncategorized.
trackback

I am not very nice to be around for the first few months of being in a new (or in this case old) town. Although I really like living in different places, I do find myself being irritable and not very happy during the settling in period.

The problem is amplified because Brisbane is not somewhere new, not somewhere exciting (for us) and there isn’t too much for us to discover. Whereas usually we have all those experiences of finding the interesting places to eat and shop, here it is all a bit familiar. It feels like the end of the new and the rest of our lives stretch out before us.

I have never been a person who can imagine spending the rest of their life in one city. Hopefully Brisbane can be a sort of base for us where we spend a few years and then go somewhere else for a while and then come back again.

At the moment, we feel like we have at least three home towns. London felt like home when we were there, it felt wrong not to be getting off the plane to stay in Sydney when we landed there and Brisbane is where our history and families are. It is all very confusing but I don’t regret living in any of those places for a time. I think that diversity of experience gives you a totally different perspective on life.

It is difficult to know where we fit here as well. Our old friends are here, but most of them in a very different stage of life to us. That doesn’t mean we don’t want to hang out- not at all- but I suppose we need to re-establish ourselves and find things to do.

This is not helped by the fact that we can’t move into a place of our own until we get jobs. I think I will feel much better when I can have my own space and the cats back!

Anyway, apologies to anyone around whom I seem cranky. And as a side note, if I seem reluctant to talk about our plans, it isn’t personal, it is just another weird thing about me. I find it hard to talk about that stuff in detail.

Comments»

1. Phil - January 12, 2007

You should try the schizophrenia that comes from having lived for long periods in three totally different countries. It absolutely challenges your sense of place.

But in the end the realisation dawns that anywhere you hang your hat is home.


Leave a Reply

