jump to navigation

Spam with love February 10, 2007

Posted by Amanda in Media.
trackback

I am so thankful that I don’t get lots of that personal spam from people I know. You know the stuff: “If you don’t send these overly sentimental expressions of friendship onto 20 people you will have bad luck and DIE!”

Then there are those well meaning but often completely falsified “warnings”. There are warnings about personal safety and the dangers of chemicals in every day products and it goes on and on. 

I am using my parents computer and they get an inordinate amount of these emails from their acquaintances. No-one seems to check that what they are sending is actually true . They are really just spreading fear and anxiety because most of the time these emails have no factual basis.

If you are afflicted with the forwarding virus, at least check your facts on sites like http://www.snopes.com or even just feed the information into Google and see what comes up. Don’t contribute to the mind pollution on email!

Comments»

1. Phil - February 10, 2007

My mum always sends me this kind of stuff too, forwarded from her friends, they are all in their 70’s and relatively new to computers.

I get really cranky.

I had to tell her to stop doing it because most of it was a bucket load of nonsense that I didn’t need to read.

As an aside I also get really cranky with stories in the media about the net being a dangerous place because she reads them and it only makes her more anxious about what is just a tool.

2. sonael - February 11, 2007

I couldn’t agree more. I’m lucky enough not to get this stuff on email, but now it has spread to SMS. One day I got the same sentimental “friendship or extreme pestilence” type text from 2 different people at once. I’m not sure who, if anyone profits from this kind of rubbish.


Leave a Reply

